top of page
Writer's pictureNSASA Press

A WOMAN CHALLENGING CONVENTIONAL NORMS: NSASA'S FIRST FEMALE BARBER



By Adelere Mayokun


Pressman: Good afternoon Miss Chidinma, I'm Mayokun from NSASA PRESS and I'd love to interview you.


Miss Chidinma: Okay


Pressman: Can you please introduce yourself to us?


Misss Chidinma : My name is Chidinma Maduagu Joy. 400l Sociologist.


Pressman: How has been your experience so far as a Sociology student?


Miss Chidinma :Rollercoaster. Initially it was very challenging but I’m used to it now.


Pressman: Was sociology your first choice?


Miss Chidinma : No. Law was my first choice.


Pressman: If you had another opportunity, would you still study law?


Miss Chidinma: No. I’m glad I didn’t.


Pressman: Why if I may ask?


Miss Chidinma: It’s more tasking and would affect the balance I try to create with school and my personal career path.


Pressman: What career path are you into?


Miss Chidinma: I’m an entrepreneur. I’m a barber


Pressman: What led you into this profession because it is a general knowledge that it is a male dominated profession and how have you been able to keep it going?


Miss Chidinma: I followed my brother to a salon one day, the whole work process was intriguing and at that point a decision was made. I didn’t care that it was male dominated. It took me some extra years though, to acquire the skill.

It’s something I love doing and that’s what pushed me. I also read somewhere that to be above average, one has to provide a need people can’t do without and I definitely do not want to be average.


Pressman: Wow, this is quite impressive and shocking because even though there are lots of male hairdressers out there, it's still quite rare to find female babers

We give you your flowers

It has come to our attention that you'll be running a giveaway in conjunction with the departmental picnic "Timeless". Do you mind giving us full details of how the giveaway would go?


Miss Chidinma: It’s quite simple because I shared it to a limited number of groups and people in UI in order to create awareness for the picnic and my business. I’m sure whoever is coming around will make reference to the picnic and of course the giveaway.


Pressman: Can we have the address of your salon then so people that are interested in participating in the giveaway can walk in on that day?


Miss Chidinma: It’s around Orogun healthcenter next to a transformer.


Pressman: Alright, thank you very much.


Pressman: Do you have any advice for any other woman out there looking to venture into the barbing business.


Miss Chidinma: Embrace your passion and find supportive communities where inspirations can be gained. Your gender shouldn’t limit your potential as long as you focus on providing quality customer service.


Pressman: Thank you so much for your time ma☺️


59 views

コメント


bottom of page