top of page
Writer's pictureNSASA Press

BEYOND THE CLASSROOM: MEET MISS OPEYEMI OGUNBONA FROM SOCIOLOGY.


Pressman: Good afternoon Miss Opeyemi, I'm JANET from NSASA PRESS and I'd love to interview you.


MISS OPEYEMI: : Nice to meet you Janet. I’m free for an interview.



PRESSMAN : Can you tell us a bit about yourself and your academic journey so far?


MISS OPEYEMI: My name is Opeyemi Ogunbona, I’m a 300l student of Sociology at the University of Ibadan. My academic journey has been quite interesting, though not without real challenges, but by the grace of God, I am currently a first class student in Sociology.



PRESSMAN ⁠what motivated you to pursue sociology?


MISS OPEYEMI: I think I’ll rather answer the question “what made me fall in love with sociology?” I think one big thing I find interesting about sociology is Methodology when it comes to approaching social issues. As a student of Sociology, the unique manner in which I approach issues is different from what a random social commentator does and I think that’s really cool.


PRESSMAN : ⁠which courses have been particularly interesting or challenging for you?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠Maybe Soc 301, The History of Social Thoughts. I think I found it quite challenging because personally I don’t like History as a subject. However the course had me reading all sorts of historical books to aid my understanding of the course. And as for the courses I find interesting, I think I find all 300l sociology courses interesting.


PRESSMAN : ⁠How do you approach studying and managing your academic workload?


MISS OPEYEMI:⁠Studying for me is a combination of several techniques. The first thing is I try to read up on a topic before every class. Secondly, paying attention in class. Attending classes and listening attentively in class is one of the things I do to make my studying easier. Afterwards I read my course materials at least two times before my tests or exams, then finally, my friends and I also have brainstorming sessions on our courses as a form of final strategy. In overall, prayer is the biggest factor in all of these. I cannot even over stress the importance of that.

PRESSMAN : ⁠Are you involved in any extracurricular activities related to your department?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠Yes, I currently serve as the President of Sociology Literary and Debating Society, UI. I am also the Chief whip of the Faculty Legislative Council.


PRESSMAN : ⁠how do you balance your academic commitment with your involvement in extracurricular activity?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠Frankly, there’s no such things as balance, there is only prioritization and discipline. When it’s time for exams or tests, I leave every extra curricular commitment pending.


PRESSMAN: ⁠what are your career goals, how has your academic journey shaped them?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠My career goal has always been to be a researcher, a lecturer and a consultant. Although I initially wanted to study law and become a lawyer, even that was still towards becoming a lecturer.


PRESSMAN : ⁠Are there specific industries or roles you are passionate about within sociology?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠For now, I’d say Medical sociology and Criminology. The thing is almost every field in sociology is interesting, I sometimes see myself going trans-disciplinary in future.


PRESSMAN : ⁠Who and what inspires you in your academic pursuit?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠My parents inspire me, my lecturers inspire me too, and the fact that I’m confident that if I set my heart to do something, I can do it with the help of God also inspires me.


PRESSMAN : ⁠Are there any professors who has influenced your perspective on NSASA course?


MISS OPEYEMI: . ⁠I don’t quite get this question. But frankly, all of my lecturers actually inspire me to believe there’s so much in sociology. And if I were to give names, there’s Dr. Akanle, Dr. Omolawal, Dr. Funke Fayehun and Dr. Funke Adegoke.


PRESSMAN : ⁠can you share a challenging moment in your academic journey and how you overcame it?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠The most challenging moment would be right now. The fact that we have to undertake a fully-fledged group research work as penultimate year students is my most challenging moment in Sociology. I see myself wanting to go all out and do something befitting for a standard final year dissertation.


PRESSMAN : ⁠what advice do you have for fellow student facing similar challenges?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠Though I am still in that phase, I’ll just say what I would advise anybody in my current shoes is believe that they can do it and do it excellently. And also learn to seek guidance and ask for help where necessary.


PRESSMAN : ⁠Do you have a favorite memory or experience within our department that you would like to share?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠Favorite moment was when I represented the department in a debate competition and came out victorious, while winning the best speaker for that day.


PRESSMAN : ⁠can you share an interesting or fun fact about yourself that others might not know?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠A fun fact about me is I love going out a lot, even though I don’t get to do so always.


PRESSMAN :⁠What are your plans for the future, both academically and personally?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠Personal plans for my future is to become a better version of myself, make impact and lead effectively in every opportunity I get.


PRESSMAN : ⁠How do you envision contributing to the community after completing your studies?


MISS OPEYEMI: ⁠Even right now, I contribute to my society by volunteering in social impact organizations. I am a mental health advocate and volunteer as the finance and fundraising director at Asido Campus Network UI, I am also a member of other social impact organizations in the university community like Enactus, Boys Without Borders etc. I hope to further this track record of impact even after my undergraduate studies.


PRESSMAN : Thank you so much for your time ma☺️




21 views

Comments


bottom of page