top of page
Writer's pictureNSASA Press

Love Still Exists 2

I got home that day, grabbed a bottle of scotch and fell on my couch while thinking about the fight I had a few years ago that was now affecting me . Abigail was the name of the girl I had fought with.


I had heard she was spreading rumors about me sleeping with a lecturer to pass my exams. I was furious. Once I saw her, I grabbed and slapped her while shouting. She retaliated and for a while we exchanged blows while people picked up their phones to video.


It went on for a while till some other people came to separate us. I regretted it once I saw it on the internet. About two weeks after my painful rejection, I got another interview. I made sure not to put my hopes high and a week after I got an email from the company.


I was rejected. It was a difficult position to get but I couldn’t help but wonder if it was the same video that made them not pick me . I went to a bar that night . I had a bad habit of surrendering to alcohol when things didn’t go my way.


“It is from that guy”, the bartender said and nudged toward a guy sitting at the far end of the bar. I turned and saw him smiling at me, he was in a suit and looked more handsome than the first time , maybe it was my blurry eyes from tears that didn’t make me notice how handsome he was before.


He stood from where he was and walked up to me .

“Hi, fancy seeing you here”

“Are you stalking me?”

“No, why?

“ so meeting me here is a coincidence “

“ maybe not”

“ so, you’re a stalker?….. How did you even find me , I don’t even remember telling you my name?”


“ I asked”.

“ Asked who?”

“Your what? I said , shocked .

“ You own the company?” Yeah and he said and brought out his phone .


“ You tweeted '' , “ Omo I got rejected again today. “ I’m just going to go and cry at king’s bar, they sell the best liquor then 1,2,3…..7 crying emojis. That’s how I knew where you would be “.


I tweet a lot when I’m emotional ……maybe too much . “ I figured after stalking your page. "So you’re a stalker , " I said and he laughed. Well, I was on my way out before you came over , I said and grabbed my bag then stood up.


“ You wouldn’t even take the drink” . One more glass and I won’t be able to walk. Let’s at least get to know each other . I’m tired, sorry . So you’re going to reject me twice”. I took a deep breath then stretched out my hand and said, “ Give me your phone”.


“ He handed his phone to me and I put in my number then give it back to him.

“ I’m Azikwe by the way”

“ And you already know my name, " I said then turned away , smiling as I walked to the door.


He called that night and we talked for a while and he promised to call again the next day. After two weeks of talking he asked me out on a date . We went to a fancy restaurant that I thought was ridiculously expensive , he agreed. The next time we just took a walk, then the next we picnicked on a beach. There were many more next.


With my history of terrible relationships, I was finding it hard to let myself be vulnerable with a man who was handsome , successful and caring. A part of me was waiting for the day, he would mess up and I’ll end up heartbroken like every other relationship I’ve been in.


Four months later after many dates, he proposed. It was in a fancier and more expensive restaurant than the one he had taken me to on our first date. I loved him and he loved me too, we are good for each other. Sometimes, I thought he was too good for me so when he went on his knee and asked me to be his wife, I panicked. I was afraid that one day he would realize he was making a mistake and dump me for good so I apologized, grabbed my bag and turned to leave .


“ What are you afraid of?” I heard him shout from behind and I stopped and turned. I looked at the amount of people who were now watching us, I squeezed my arms by my side and said, “ nothing …..it’s just that it is too soon”.


“We both know that’s not it”. You’re afraid everything is going so well and one day it might just end. You’re not perfect and neither am I. “ you snore when you sleep”, I said and he laughed . “ You leave soap suds on the wall after bathing. God, I don’t think I can live with that”.


I said and we both laughed. You’re not perfect but I don’t want perfect . I want right and you feel right to me”. He smiled, then moved closer to me and he’d my hands , “ so you are ready to become Nnamdi Adesewa?.


He asked , then I moved closer to him and kissed his lips then said, “ Yes I am”. The cheers and Awnnn I heard from the crowd startled me, I had forgotten we were not alone , I was not a fan of public romance but I let myself enjoy it.



Two months later in the church my mother recommended, I stood in front of the man I loved exchanging heartfelt vows. Something I thought I would never get to do.


THE END.










14 views

Komentáře


bottom of page