top of page
Writer's pictureNSASA Press

Interview of Omotosho Sulayman Razaq, vying for the position of the Assistant General Secretary

By Okunsanya Omolola


PRESSMAN: Hello... Good afternoon

I'm contacting you from NSASA press and I'd like to interview you concerning the post you're vying for in the upcoming election. Can you introduce yourself to NSASAITES?


Mr. Razaq: My name's Sulayman Abdulrazaq Omotosho( Omotosho). My political career started in 2000. I attended Bright nursery and primary school where I did my Nursery 1 but left in primary 4. Then I proceeded to Blessing Nursery and primary school in ondo state, Ore where I completed my primary school in 2006. Then I moved to Osun state in osogbo then I went to Sodiq adeleke Islamic comprehensive college and I happen to be a graduate of 2013. I went to Arabic school from 2013 till 2021.

After secondary school, I joined INSU( Ilobu National Students Union) and I joined in 2018 and I happened to hold the post of AGS(2019- 2021) and was the first O'level student to hold the position.

I was also the punctuality perfect during my secondary school days because I was always punctual in time of need.


PRESSMAN: Why do you think you're the right fit for this position?


Mr. Razaq: I have the experience and my manifesto is labelled ESQ(Experience, Skill and qualities) . Due to various leadership positions I've held and holding the post of AGS before shows the skills and experience I possess. Also, the UI, FATSSSA AND NSASA needs someone with experience as the Gen.sec is the engine room of an organisation therefore anyone occupying such post needs someone with experience to assist him.

Also, people do stereotype vice of positions as they feel they're "sparetires" which shouldn't be so as all constitutions recognizes their individual duties.

A vice isn't a "sparetire" therefore he's also responsible for the office of the Assistant General secretary

I'm also going unopposed because my classmates have recognised my skills and believe I'm the right man for the job.


PRESSMAN: How was you holding the position of AGS like?

Mr. Razaq: Actually, I tried my best then and I feel if I was given another opportunity, I'd perform better cause I have more experience.

There was so much pressure back then and I was just an A'level student and I had students from 100, 200l upwards and it wasn't really easy.

I won the election against an 100l student. The role wasn't that requiring so I didn't do much and I did my best at assisting the Gen.sec cause the association isn't as large as the university. My duties were writing minutes and representing the Gen.sec when absent.


PRESSMAN: What do you think are the skills you should possess as someone vying for such position?


MR. Razaq: Good writing skills as my position requires such skills.

Sensitivity too. Leadership skills. Vast in holding executive positions. I should be able to perform my duties and other duties alongside. Social skills as my constitutional duties requires me to be part of social committee. Should be able to keep track of records. Humanitarian skills and should be able to fear God since all executive positions require money.


PRESSMAN: What do you hope to accomplish in this position?


MR. RAZAQ: I'd prefer not to disclose that as the manifesto night is tomorrow and I'm urging all NSASAITES to come and listen to what I have for them.


PRESSMAN: Thank you for your time.

13 views

Comments


bottom of page