top of page
Writer's pictureNSASA Press

THE TOLL OF INCREASED TRANSPORTATION FEES: #UITES' WORST EXPERIENCES


By Samson Adetunji


In recent times, students of our beloved university have been struggling with a significant and abrupt change which is the rise in transportation fees on campus. This hike, triggered by the harsh economic realities and the removal of fuel subsidies, has left a lasting mark on the daily lives of UItes.


Formerly, a ride within the university campus cost a meager 50 naira, a very affordable fee that enabled students to move around with ease. However, in the wake of the price hike, students are now faced with fares of 100 naira or 150 naira, depending on their destination. Similarly, the cost of 'drops’ have nearly tripled, increasing from 150 naira for tricycles to 400 naira and from 200 naira for cabs to 500 naira.


The consequences of this transportation fee increase are evident in the daily struggles of UItes. Many students find themselves waking up earlier than ever before to ensure they can attend their classes punctually since speedy transportation is no longer exactly affordable.

Furthermore, they are forced to brave adverse weather conditions by trekking to their destinations, a situation that could have been avoided if the price had not been hiked.


For students living off-campus, the challenges are even more pronounced. They must rise at dawn, journey to the university gate, and subsequently trek to their respective faculties, regardless of weather conditions. Freshmen, in particular, face the daunting task of navigating the campus's sprawling grounds, often relying on cabs to reach their destinations on time thereby having no choice but to pay the exorbitant fees.


Conversations with students reveal a shared feeling, almost unanimous in nature; the transportation fee increase has ushered in a wave of terrible experiences. One student candidly expressed, "It made me totally stop boarding any of the autos. I took them last session whenever I was late to class, but with the hike, late or not, I have trained my legs in the way they should go."


Another shared a poignant tale, explaining how she had to hasten her pace to make it to class on time to avoid incurring additional transportation costs, often opting to trek to preserve her little finances.


She stated and I quote “My experience with the hiked transport fare has been a mind blowing one. Firstly, I can remember having a class and waking up quite late because I had stayed up late the night before and it was few minutes to my class. Getting outside my hostel, I was deliberating taking Keke but then I remembered t-fare has increased and also kerosene has increased, I had to start walking faster so I can meet up with the class. Many a times, when I'm going to the school gate I do not take cab, I prefer trekking so I won't shorten my ration. If I decide to keep paying ₦150 for every of my transportation within the school it will amount to a tangible figure and calculating the cost would be painful as a student who does not earn any salary.”


There is a need for students to save money, and this increase in transportation fees is making it difficult for them to do so. Because of it, they are dealing with more problems and struggling with their finances.


The dire consequences of this increase in transportation fees serve as a stark reminder of the economic challenges facing our beloved UItes. While the reasons for this decision are understood, it is crucial that the concerns of the students are also acknowledged and addressed, ensuring a balanced approach that prioritizes their well-being.


These experiences of UItes emphasize the importance of accessible and affordable transportation options on campus. As the institution moves forward, finding solutions to lessen the impact of these increased fees is important to make sure that students can learn without facing financial difficulties and transportation challenges.


57 views

コメント


bottom of page