top of page
Writer's pictureNSASA Press

Interview With Akinola Eniola, the first female speaker of NSASA




By Adelere Mayokun


Pressman: Good evening, I am Mayokun from NSASA PRESS and I will like to interview you

Can you introduce yourself please?


Eniola: I’m Rt Hon Eniola Akinola 400 level and the speaker of NSASA legislative council


Pressman: Alright ma'am. Can you tell us why you picked University of Ibadan and Sociology as a course?


Eniola: Dem no pick me for law😂😂

I’m just joking


Eniola: I’ve always wanted to be back home as per Oyo is my state of origin and I chose sociology, first it was out of fear. Then I later started to gain purpose and I found out what o wanted from the course/ field of study.


Pressman: So you can affirm that you are totally enjoying studying Sociology?


Eniola: Yes


Pressman: Can you tell us what you love most about the department of Sociology?


Eniola: The relationship among the students is Infact the best thing I love about the department.

No matter the differences that we have, we all still come around. Plus there’s competition in the department and it’s something I always look forward to both academically and even with extracurricular activities.


Pressman: How long have you been an honorable of the NSASA Legislative council?


Eniola: This is my 4th year


Presman: Can you tell us why you joined the NSASA Legislative Council?

Eniola: I joined as a first year student because it sounded interesting and I wanted to be involved in something as a fresher. Then boom, 200 level I contested, I won, became the clerk and that’s how it continued till now.


Pressman: What was your experience as an honorable of the house like before you became the speaker of the house?


Eniola: It was quite interesting and I made quite a member of non-friends. I don’t want to say enemies; this was because we couldn’t agree on some things as per the legislature check mates the executive (home and abroad) but I’ve loved the experience ever since the beginning.


Pressman: Being an honorable sounds like a lot of work!


Eniola: A work I don’t mind doing🌝


Pressman: As the first ever female speaker of the NSASA Legislative Council, What has been your experience so far? NSASAites especially females are interested in knowing how you attained this.


Eniola: When I became the speaker, I was scared because all my predecessors were male and I honestly thought I wasn’t going to be good at it or the association would have crumbled while I was there but the fear made me do better, it helped me to foresee where things could go wrong and things would be corrected before it goes wrong. Then some people would also think as a female, I’d take nonsense or take things with levity but trust me, I don’t.


Eniola: How I became the speaker

It took years of learning and followership and I knew I wanted it, so I went for it.


Pressman: This is really motivating. I'm sure you're an inspiration to other female NSASAites

What advice do you have for any NSASAite vying to be a member of the house?


Eniola: Be active. After your constituency gives you the opportunity to represent them, please be present

Represent them well

Be vibrant at sittings

If you find yourself in a position of power/responsibility, don’t let familiarity stop you from doing the right thing.


Pressman: Are you into any business Madam speaker? If yes, what do you do ma'am?


Eniola: Yes ma’am

I’m a serial entrepreneur

I’m a caterer (not full time)

I sell unisex wears and I do personal shopping for people (full time).


Pressman: What is your brand's name ma'am?


Eniola: Trendy by lumiee.


Pressman: Thank you so much for your time ma.


Eniola: You’re welcome


26 views

Comments


bottom of page