top of page
Writer's pictureNSASA Press

REINCARNATION: THE DAUGHTER OF LIFE ODUKOYA GRACE OMOLOLA


A vacuum appeared from nowhere and iye, the goddess of life strutted to me, her waist-length curls weaved into a complex didi, adorned with the ileke iyun that also beautified her ears, neck, waist, wrists and ankles. She was dressed in buba and iro made of the most exquisite lace material.

She reached out to me and everything seemed to stop at that split second. She smiled sadly, ‘My child, you have suffered enough. The divinities have decided to give you a second chance to rewrite your destiny. You have to stop being so hesitant and do what’s best for your people.’ She waved at me.


I woke up, startled and gasping for breath. I looked around the small carriage that held me and three other prisoners. I hit my chest gently several times to calm myself. I kept having that strange dream. It had started when I was a child, occurring almost everyday and then occurred less frequently for a while, however it had been more vivid and disturbing recently.


I was the daughter of a powerful Oyo chief who had married a prominent Oyo princess. I was raised in wealth and revered especially because I was said to be a splitting image of Alaafin Oromptoniyun, the first female ruler of the Oyo empire.


Versed in political affairs and warfare, I was elevated to the position of the Iyalode even though I was young. Everything seemed good except that colonizers started to attack us and connived with the male rulers. In exchange of ‘exotic’ items, they sold able bodied men and women, as well as innocent children.


I had refused to collaborate with them and they had connived a huge scheme to get me out of the way. My memories seemed foggy and my eyes began to see circles, I held my head in pain as I began to see some strange yet familiar scenes.


I saw myself in another era several decades away. I was dressed in a purple agbada with trousers and heavily adorned with the ileke iyun. Men and women pay homage to me, addressing me as ‘Kabiyesi.’


I was the great Alaafin Oromptoniyun, the first female monarch of the Oyo Empire, the one whose strength was rivaled by none. I would not call myself an empathetic ruler but I was fair and just.


Many were in awe of me yet terrified. I didn’t care as long as it did not cause the people any troubles. I was not the only female monarch in existence but my reign attracted so many from foreign empires.


I was about to retire to bed when I heard knocks on my door. Aderonke, my only daughter walked in. Her long black hair had been made into cornrows that were hidden by beads, her short kaba framing her lean figure.


She curtsied, ‘Kabiyesi o, ikeji orisa, k’ade pe lori, ki bata pe lese’ (Your highness, second to the gods, may you reign forever.) I waved my horsetail to her. She moved forward, sitting at my feet, ‘Mother, I was in the library this evening when I heard about the white men coming to visit us and their good news they want to share with us.’


I looked her in the eyes, ‘Aderonke, you are still a child and things do not always seem as they are.’ I sighed, ‘I fear that in a while, things would no longer be the same.’


The next morning, I was getting ready for the court when I pondered on what Aderonke said. Those foreigners really had ulterior motives. They even spread rumors about some good news and freebies brought for us. I decided to be cautious about such a sensitive issues as some of the citizens already loved them.


The chiefs greeted; the men prostrating and the women kneeling after the crier had sung my eulogies. I sat on the throne and beckoned the chiefs to sit. Soon, the meeting started and not surprisingly, the issue of the foreigners was brought up.


One of the chiefs, Asipa, known to be greedy, started to sing their praises, droning about their ‘huge’ plans for our empire. They just wanted a little land to farm and build industries, he said.

In anger, I hit the armstool, ‘You mean…the same people who stole knowledge from Egypt and some prominent empires, just to parade it as theirs. They want to build industries, let them do it on their shores, not mine. Do not make the mistake of letting wolves into the door.Do I make myself clear, Asipa?’


Asipa, scared, fell to the ground, shaking, ‘Kabiyesi, I am sorry. Please spare me.’ Scoffing, I looked away and adjourned the meeting. I requested for Iyalode, Balogun and Otun to wait. I told them to divulge all the information they had gathered about the crafty foreigners.


Days rolled into weeks and months, yet these foreigners did not give up on their request to see me. I decided to grant them audience after a while. Their arrogance was stupefying, almost like they expected me to kiss their ass because of their skin colour. I made it clear to them that we did not wish to partner with them, especially because of their views on women.


Their belief system would cause havoc for our society especially with our culture, traditions and the role of our women in the society. They tried to convince me but I did not budge, however I was not unpleasant to them.


Unfortunately, the greedy chiefs schemed and had me killed on the battlefield. I remembered the smug face of Asipa as I fell from my horse. Unable to speak,gnashing from the agony of the calamity that awaited my people, I silently prayed to the gods to do something. I would never let the enemies rest.


I opened my eyes gradually, the sunrays almost blinding me. I was kicked to the ground by someone. I heard cackles that sounded familiar. I looked into the eyes of the Asipa in this era.


‘Apeke, you did not listen to the elders. If you had minded your business and let the men handle this, you would still be in your household, enjoying luxury,’ he drawled.

I spat into his eyes, ‘Scoundrel, you and your forefathers. You sold our people for miserly coins and now, they slave away in a foreign country, forever to be detached from their roots.’


Agitated, he twisted my hand, trying to subdue me. I closed my eyes, asking the gods for guidance. I jabbed his stomach and grabbed his bow and arrows. I shot his men down and walked towards where they kept my people captive.


I freed them and directed them somewhere safe to hide. One of the sages among them, bowed. He knew I was Alaafin Oromptoniyun reincarnated. I smiled. I could not save my people the last time but now that I had another chance, I would save them or die trying. I closed my eyes and bow to life, the mother who gave me a second chance.

2 views

Commentaires


bottom of page